Cranberry and pumpkin seed granola bars

IMG_0078

I’m going to need to clean my laptop keyboard because it has got a little sticky. This is because I couldn’t wait to tell you about these granola bars! There just wasn’t time to wash my hands after cutting them up and putting them in their tin before declaring loudly to the whole internet that these are the best granola bars I have ever had.

IMG_0074 IMG_0077

They are adapted from the very flexible recipe on Smitten Kitchen, which are also proclaimed the best granola bars ever eaten. I’m putting up my take one it with a smidge more butter, less nut butter, and made them a little more English with some golden syrup. Obviously, they are still flexible – so use whatever nut/fruit/seed combination you can think of! (Although I really don’t think anything could be better than dried cranberries with hazelnuts and pumpkin seeds, but that is just my humble, cranberry-loving opinion.)

IMG_0070

You can cut them into 12 or 16 pieces, depending on how generous you want your portions to be. Being a greedy hungry person, I went with 12 big bars so I can take one with me every day for a lecture snack, and Angelo can take one with him. That is the theory anyway, we will see if they last past Saturday…


Cranberry and pumpkin seed granola bars
Adapted from the Smitten Kitchen
Makes 12-16

230 grams rolled oats
50 grams oat flour (or 50g oats ground in a food processor)
160 grams caster sugar
½ tsp. salt
½ tsp. cinnamon
200 grams dried cranberries
100 grams sunflower seeds
100 grams hazelnuts, roughly chopped
7 tbsp. melted butter
1 tbsp. water
100 grams golden syrup
2 tbsp. almond butter

Preheat the oven to 180°C. Grease then line an 8”/21cm square pan with 2 perpendicular pieces of greaseproof paper so that they come up over the sides of the tin.

Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl, then add the wet ingredients and mix thoroughly until well combined and there are no patches of dry oats.

Press the mixture firmly into the prepared tin, making sure to get it right into the corners. Flatten the surface of the mixture, then bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes until golden brown on the top.

Leave to cool in the tin on top of a cooling rack, then cut into squares with a sharp knife when completely cold. The bars will keep for a few days in an airtight container.

 

This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cranberry and pumpkin seed granola bars

  1. These look fab! I’m currently trying to get a recipe myself that I’m happy with and I had spotted that Smitten Kitchen one. Might have to give yours a go!

  2. miencuisine says:

    that looks yummy! I miss food like that 🙂

  3. Mum says:

    Healthy and Yummy. The perfect combination 🙂

Leave a Reply

