Double chocolate chilli cookies

IMG_0061 (2)

I have always been disappointed where chilli combined with chocolate is concerned. Chilli, I like. Chocolate, I like. But together? Never really got it.

Until now.

These cookies are the answer. The intense chocolate flavour that I previously missed in chilli-chocolate combinations is present, with oh so much depth. The spiciness that I craved before, but never found, is there in abundance. They are, at the same time, addictive and completely satisfying.

Don’t be afraid. The chilli doesn’t smack you in the mouth then proceed to set it on fire. In the beginning, you don’t even notice it’s there. Your taste buds think they’re getting a little chocolate treat, with a nice comfy cuddle from the cinnamon, and that will be all. But then, the gentle warming in the back of your throat reminds you that these were chilli chocolate cookies, and as it spreads into a perfect, spicy satisfaction in your mouth, you wonder how you have gone without these cookies in your life for so long and promptly reach for another.

IMG_0042

I adapted this recipe from a chipotle chocolate cookie recipe on Love & Olive Oil which looks divine. When I saw them, I saw the chance to use my fancy new chocolate chips I bought from my favourite chocolate shop. I think I can safely say it was one of the best possible uses I could have chosen for the precious little chips.

IMG_0038

In other news, since I have started back at Uni again and third year looks like no joke, I will be reducing blog posts to once a week (but lets be honest, they were starting to slip that way anyway due to my laziness busy life). With the workload piling up in the very foreseeable future, I will definitely be in need of some tasty food – you know, to keep my spirits up.

If you would like a snack for your eyes amongst all the newsletters from various shops in your email inbox, follow along at the top right of this page to get an update when I make something new.


Double chocolate chilli cookies
Makes 24
Adapted from Love & Olive Oil

115g butter, softened
140g light brown soft sugar
140g granulated sugar
2 eggs
½ tsp. vanilla
245 grams plain flour
60 grams good quality cocoa powder
1 tsp hot chilli powder (use half if you want less of a kick)
½ tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/4 tsp salt
175 grams dark chocolate chips (60% cocoa)
Dried chilli flakes, to sprinkle (optional)

Preheat the oven to 180° and grease 2 baking trays with butter or spray oil.

In a large bowl, beat together the butter and sugars to form a smooth mixture with no lumps of butter. Beat in the eggs and vanilla until an even mixture forms. Sift over the flour, cocoa, chilli powder, cinnamon, baking powder, bicarbonate and salt and mix together well with a spoon to form a stiff dough. Stir in the chocolate chips until evenly distributed.

Use two spoons to scoop out tablespoons of the mixture onto the prepared trays, spaced slightly apart to allow for spreading. Flatten the dollops slightly, then sprinkle over the dried chilli flakes, if using. Bake the cookies in the hot oven for 12-14 minutes, or until set in the middle but still soft – they will harden up as they cool. Leave to cool on the tray for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

The cookies will store well for a couple of days in an airtight container.

 

 

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Double chocolate chilli cookies

  1. miencuisine says:

    Looks nice 🙂 I saw your blog over mywifemakes. have you ever seen the movie Chocolate? there they also do chili-chocolate. Warm chocolate in the winter with chili is awesome 🙂

    • Zoe says:

      I have seen Chocolat but not for ages, it’s such a nice film! I can’t wait for chilli hot chocolate with cream on top when it gets cold (:

      • miencuisine says:

        Yes do that! Like a whole set of warm chocolate versions in the christmas time. Like the chili-version, the baileysversion, the salty caramel… Ahh can’t wait ! 😀

Leave a Reply

